iOS 6: Do Not Disturb!

I keep my iPhone and iPad next to my bed at night. When I go to sleep, I set my iPhone to “vibrate” and my iPad to silent so I won’t hear any incoming mail/text/notification alerts. But sometimes, I can hear my iPhone vibrating depending on what I set it on.  With the release of iOS 6, there’s a new feature called “Do Not Disturb” that takes care of this problem.

By setting my iPhone and iPad to Do Not Disturb, I can silence calls, alerts and notifications. (This is also useful during the day if you’re in a meeting or someplace you don’t want your iDevice to distract you.) Do Not Disturb keeps calls, alerts, and notifications from making any sounds or lighting up the screen when the screen is locked. Alarms will sound, however, and if the screen is unlocked, Do Not Disturb has no effect.

To enable Do Not Disturb: Go to Settings > Do Not Disturb and turn it on. While enabled, a moon icon will appear in the status bar.

But wait, there’s more!

You can schedule “quiet hours”…a daily period where Do Not Disturb will engage automatically. I use this at night when I go to sleep.

To schedule quiet hours: Go to Settings > Notifications > Do Not Disturb and turn on Scheduled. Next, set the From and To times.

Do Not Disturb

With the “Allow Calls From” option, you can set your iPhone so if someone/everyone/no one/someone from a specified group calls, their call won’t be silenced. I chose my “Favorites” group. If my daughter or mom or brother or astrologist feels the need to call me at 2am, I want to hear the phone ring.

There’s also another option called “Repeated Calls”. When enabled, a second call from the same person within three minutes, regardless of who they are, will not be silenced.

I’ve found this feature to be very handy. I have Do Not Disturb set up on both my iPad and iPhone for scheduled Quiet Hours every night so I no longer have to remember to set my iPhone to stun or my iPad to silent when I go to bed. My life is now complete. Do not disturb it!

One thought on “iOS 6: Do Not Disturb!

Leave a Reply

