Kinder•Simpler•Computing 2.Oh!

Two years ago, I had an itch to try my hand at blogging, so I got a URL and gave it a go. The blog has been sitting idle for about a year. I thought it was time to resurrect it. Welcome to “Kinder • Simpler • Computing” 2.Oh!

My blog name is a take off of a political campaign from the early ‘90s. Anyone remember the kindler, gentler nation? While at 3Com, I incorporated the concept into my job by turning to the pursuit of kinder, simpler networking. I remember when I coined the term. I was standing by the elevator with two coworkers while 3Com evolved from a local area network company into a networking infrastructure company.

I took my quest on the road to customer sites and corporate events and stumped for it in marketing and engineering meetings. My key tenet of kinder, simpler networking was distinguishing between usable versus useful.

We’re surrounded by useful but not always usable things. Digging from the ’80s, a ubiquitous example is the VCR clock. For many, it forever flashed “12:00” because they didn’t have a clue how to set the time…which meant they couldn’t set their VCRs to tape future shows….which was the primary value of product. The clock was a useful feature that wasn’t very usable.

My goal for this blog is to provide useable tips and tricks to make the use of Apple’s already simple and intuitive technology even more useful. And useable. This version of my blog is still under construction. I’m still obsessing over style and layout. Until I find appropriate “techie” graphics, I’ll be using some of my photographs in the blog header.

Please take a moment to comment on what you like or dislike. And let me know if there’s something you’d like me to write about.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

